Um, hi?

I've been feeling really bad lately and I didn't quite know what I wanted to do with this space. The overly-personal blog posts were better suited for a diary, I think, and I wanted to do something fun. After some time away, I think I know what I'll do: post about pop music and culture in general. It's something I know a lot about (some might say too much about) and I have no one to share this with. I'll also be later making a Brazilian Portuguese version of this page since most of my followers (if you're still there) are Brazilians. (Oi!)

Without further ado, here's today's topic: a list of a few songs I consider The Most Beautiful of All Time. Please note that this doesn't mean they're my favorite songs; these are songs that, whenever I listen to them, I always think to myself "wow, this is beautiful". Just like my Britney post, I won't be adding any YouTube or Spotify links, but, I mean, DuckDuckGo is always free (please don't use Google). Kagi is not free, but if you can afford to use that one instead, I highly recommend it.

Take My Breath Away by Berlin

I do not like Tom Cruise. Every time I see his name pop up, I think of a) Scientology and b) that one Tumblr post in which Nicole Kidman looks like "an angel of light" and Tom is "in the shadows like a devil". I also do not care much, or at all, for action movies, so I've never watched (and, hopefully, never will watch) Top Gun.

I discovered this song through TikTok (grumble grumble Generation Z grumble grumble) and have been in awe of it ever since. The chorus is so gorgeous. I feel like it transports me to a new dimension every time I hear it. Thank you, Tom Cruise, for providing us with this contribution to humanity.

Kiss From a Rose by Seal

As many others before me have pointed out, no one knows what the hell Seal is talking about in this song. According to Genius, "did you know that when it snows my eyes become large" is talking about cocaine? Uh, okay.

My father used to say melody is more important than lyrics, something that deeply offended me as a writer, but he was right. The lyrics here don't matter. What matters is the show-stopping chorus and Seal's powerful delivery. (Sidenote: I discovered this song through Community. Great sitcom. Too bad Chevy Chasey is, well, like that).

Heaven on Earth by Britney Spears

If I didn't put my girl Britney in here, then I wouldn't be myself. When I first heard this song (a deep cut off of her best album, Blackout), I thought heaven really was on Earth. I'm pretty sure I'm only the diehard Britney fan I am now because of the way her vocals overlap in the pre-chorus.

Evidências by Chitãozinho e Xororó

This song has unfortunately become a now-long-unfunny meme (excluding this video, which always makes me laugh and made me break my no-YouTube-links rule (sorry)), and an apparently surprisingly good movie that I will literally never watch, but there's a reason it's so popular. It might be the most beautiful song I have ever heard in my life. It's definitely the most beautiful Brazilian song I've heard, at least.

Heaven is a Place on Earth by Belinda Carlisle

All gay people know this song by heart, or at least they should. Shout out to those Black Mirror lesbians (remember when Black Mirror used to be good?).

What's Up by 4 Non Blondes

According to Genius, this is widely considered "one of the worst hits of all time". Well, I do NOT agree!!!!!!

I always knew Linda Perry as "that woman who wrote a lot of songs for Christina Aguilera and really should get back to doing it". I had no idea she was a) a lesbian, which will always make me like someone a little bit more (yes, even if they're JoJo Siwa) and b) behind one of the Most Beautiful Songs of All Time. Much like Kiss from a Rose, I have no idea who, or what, exactly Linda is mad at here. Genius seems to think it's heroin (???).

It doesn't matter. I am almost 25 and I also feel as if my life is still trying to get up that great big hill of hope for a destination. This song is so good it made one of the band members stop having sex when they heard it for the first time. That's quality!

Kokomo by The Beach Boys

Crap, this one is thanks to Tom Cruise as well.

Mike Love sucks, but he makes me wish I could get down to Kokomo too.

Please watch this Todd In The Shadows episode (another YouTube link. Oops) about the The Beach Boys album that contains this song. It's one of his best videos.

Careless Whisper by George Michael

Another song that became a long-unfunny meme. That sax literally came down from Heaven. The bridge is one of the best bridges I've ever heard in my entire life. Apparently, George Michael didn't like the lyrics to this song. They're definitely corny, but he makes it work.

Sorry, I think you can tell I ran out of steam after a while. Still, I hope you liked this list, and thanks for reading. :)